Sungkyunkwan University

Introduce Sungkyunkwan University

Sungkyunkwan University, whose main campus is located in Jongno District in Seoul, is a private university in the Republic of Korea. It has a long history of more than 600 years; the successor of Sungkyunkwan, the highest educational institute in Joseon Dynasty founded in 1398, is known for the oldest university in East Asia. The university consists of 37 undergraduate and graduate schools, and the total number of students is approximately 30,000 including 2,500 exchange students, however the number of Japanese students is still low.
The university has two campuses: Humanities and Social Sciences Campus in Seoul and Natural Sciences Campus in Suwon including School of Medicine, School of Pharmacy and College of engineering. Suwon is a major urban area with a beautiful lake, and lies 35 km south of Seoul- about an hour bus/subway ride away. In the center, there is a walled city encircled by the walls of Hwaseong Fortress, listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Seoul:(03063) 25-2, sungkyunkwan-ro,jongno-gu,seoul,korea
Suwon:(16419) 2066, seobu-ro,jangan-gu,suwon-si,gyeonggi-do,korea
Sungkyunkwan is established in the capital, Seoul, succeeded the Sungkyunkwan of Goryeo.
Modern education system is adopted under the imperial ordinance from the Emperor Gwangmu. Western mathematics and science are introduced to Sungkunkwan.
The university is renamed Kyonghagwon under the order from Japanese Governor-General of Korea.
The Sungkyunkwan College is established.
The Sungkyunkwan College is promoted to a comprehensive university.
The Natural Sciences Campus is opened.
The 600th Anniversary project committee is established.
The Samsung Group joined the school management.
The 600th Anniversary ceremony is held.
SKK Graduate School of Business (SKK GSB) is launched in collaboration with the MIT Sloan School of Management.